Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agreee or disagree?

People think that high school education should involve voluntary work in the community as part of the school curriculum Nonetheless, I would argue that unpaid community service should be added to the high school education curriculum for some reasons which are set out below. First, most students need a lot of extracurricular activities to gain useful experiences since they are in high school for their future personal lives and careers. Then, they can gain many experiences that improve their soft skills which are beneficial for them. For example, community service can improve their public speaking skill because they must learn to communicate with different people coming from various backgrounds of society and social statuses. Second, in this stage they can use their time wisely as what they do will benefit the community. For instance, this opportunity helps their community to improve, especially when students are given a chance to provide education, like sports to youngsters near their neighbourhood. Other than that, students will have better initiatives to contribute to society rather than enjoying themselves by doing a lot of entertainment or even illegal activities that might affect their future lives. In conclusion, high school institutions should involve unpaid community service as their curriculum because it will give students precious experiences and push them to use their time wisely and have better initiatives.