Social media is a good thing for modern society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

It is irrefutable that social media has become an inevitable part of our life now. Though it is debatable whether it is good for us or not, I personally believe that it is positive for the modern society, and I will further discuss my argument. First and fore more, websites such as Facebook and Instagram has made finding and contacting anyone facile. Consequently, this world has turned into a global village where a person is just a click away. For instance, many elderly people tend to find their long lost school friends on these platforms and can potentially meet them to have a great time and company. Secondly, these websites have a myriads of social group which are easily accessible to anyone part of the platform and people can interact with anyone having the same interests. I think that this is a fantastic way of sharing knowledge, even with people and professionals sitting in any part of the world. For example, various cooking groups are available on Facebook for people keenly interested in it. These groups include both professionals and amateurs who can share new recipes of various cuisines and help explore new dishes. Thirdly, websites such as Tik Tok also provide a platform for unknown artists to come into the limelight. Artists can showcase their talent and can become an overnight sensation. In conclusion, I think that social media is good for the modern society because it not only a great source of information, but it helps people to be more social by making it easy for them to contact their old acquaintances.