Once children start school, teachers have more influence than parents on their intellectual and social development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I definitely agree with the statement that once children get admission in school, teachers have more impact on them than even their parents. A number of arguments surround my opinion. To begin with, children spend quality time with teachers. Although they spend more time with parents at home but this time is not as productive as the small amount of time spent with teachers. We all know that parents are busy with their work most of the time and even if children are around, they hardly pay any attention to them. Teachers, on the other hand are in school for the students. All the time they are either teaching the students or guiding them in extra -cu rricu la r activities. They keep children focused on study and as a result have more intellectual impact on them. What is more, teachers are role models for students. They are scholars in action. They not only influence intellectually but socially. Students inadvertently follow their teachers ' behaviour too. They observe how the teacher walks, talks and tackles difficult situations. At home they have parents to guide them socially, but it is seen that in nuclear families, parents hardly find time for this. Whatever social skills children learn are from TV or other activities they do at home. So definitely teachers have an edge over parents even as far as social skills are concerned. Teachers also guide students for their future careers. Students follow teachers more than parents because they feel that teachers are more aware of the world around them and they have better capability of guiding them. So, they depend on teachers more than parents. To conclude, it can be said that once the schooling starts, teachers and parents both have influence but teachers influence children more.