There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the society is creating a lot of stress on young people to get high scores in their academic subjects. Also, it is being proposed to remove non-academic subjects like physical education and cookery from the syllabus so that children can focus only on their academic work. I disagree with the opinion to remove extracurricular activities and I think that these additional skills will help the students to develop as a well-rounded person equipped to face this world. Firstly, we need to understand the benefits of physical education. It helps the kids to be physically stronger which means mentally as well. There are studies shows that physical activity helps our body release 'dopamine' which is called a happiness chemical in our brain. If a kid is allowed to play for at least 30 minutes a day, they will feel happier and be more receptive towards academics. Secondly, I think cookery is a basic skillset every person must have to survive in this fast-paced world. Recently, I am seeing most of the students and their working parents do not have enough time to prepare their own food. They are all depending on restaurants and processed foods which has a negative impact on their bodies. If someone can learn a minimum level of cooking then it can help them on a daily basis when they move out of their schools. As I explained above, this generation should change their views about the education system. It should never be about achieving higher marks rather than it should be about developing a complete person who is ready to take on their future needs. Therefore, physical education and cookery should be included in the curriculum considering their benefits.