Some people think that drug addicts should be treated like criminals and sent to jail, while others believe that they should be treated like patients and sent to hospital. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Drug abuse is a common observation, especially among the younger generation. It is stated that, these people should be punished for such acts by imprisonment, while others think that, they should be hospitalized and treated for this disease. This essay will discuss both these views and in my opinion, these individuals should be treated in a hospital as they are in a physically and mentally compromised state. Addiction to drugs is a vicious disease. Once if a person gets habituated, it is extremely difficult for them to leave that habit. Therefore, sometimes for a small dose, they can commit crime like robbery or murder. For example, the motive in a theft case reported yesterday, was money to purchase drugs. Hence, some feel that these individuals should be treated like criminals, so that, others will get discouraged. Despite all this, many of them wish to come out of such lifestyle and need help for the same. If they will be treated like law breakers, they may get discouraged from choosing the right path. These chemicals have severe physical and mental implications on the human body and that is why, they should be treated with care. For instance, the Punjab government has opened a free Rehabilitation centre for drug addicts, so that, they can quit the habit and resume a healthy lifestyle. In conclusion, individuals suffering from drug addiction should be treated by health care centres, while some believe that, they should be subjected to trails and be imprisoned. This essay discussed both these opinions, however, according to me, they should be sent to hospitals as they are unwell physically and mentally.