More and more businesses as well as individuals are choosing to communicate either professionally or socially using technology rather than face to face. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using technology for communicating.

Technology -based means of communication are preferred to face-to-face interaction by an increasing number of both businesses and individual people in work and social contexts. Although technological advances have made communication quicker, cheaper and possible over any distance, their use is also associated with a number of drawbacks. One the one hand, communicating by means of technology is faster, because you can reach your interlocutor without having to travel to the same place. Whereas it is the case with face-to-face communication, such devices as mobile phones and applications allow us to transmit messages almost instantly. This plays a vital role in emergency, when lives are dependent on quick communication. Moreover, modern technology enables us to communicate and maintain relationships over long distances. In the past, when little alternative to face-to-face communication existed, it was very time-consuming and labour-intensive to establish any international business contacts. However, this can be done easily with the help of technology. You can organize an advertising campaign over the Internet, which will provide you with both clients and partners from all over the world with only a little effort from your side. One the other hand, communication by means of technology is often considered too impersonal and lacking in emotions. When you speak face-to-face, you see your partner’s facial expressions and body language, which gives you more information about what they feel. Of course, it is also possible through video calls, but to a limited extent. What is not feasible is to hug your friend over the Internet when you want to support them, for example. Another problem is that technology may not be of high quality and therefore reliably. You may find yourself in an area without mobile or wifi coverage or your internet connection may fail in the middle of an important video conference with your colleagues. More than that, poor quality of microphones and headphones can lead to headache. In conclusion, despite the fact that using technology for communication has undoubtedly facilitated it in many ways, there are situations when its effectiveness is limited and incomparable to that of face-to-face communication.