Too much money is spent on maintaining and repairing old buildings. Some people think that they should be knocked out to give way to modern buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world, many people are willing to demolish old buildings, in order to construct modern skyscrapers, business districts or shopping centres. However, others feel that old constructions should be protected, because they are one of the national heritages. Personally, I reckon that individuals and authorities should take care of these constructions. First and foremost, old buildings represent the history and art of ancient people. That is to say, construction materials, art works and domestic items are crucial for the next generation, if they are willing to know about their ancestors’ life. A good illustration of this is paintings, because nowadays, the vast majority of drawings are painted by the previous generation, which can help to know their tradition and culture. Secondly, living in old low-rise buildings is safer than the life in modern high-rise buildings. In this regard, it is widely though that tall structures can be damaged by natural disasters, such as blizzard and strong winds. For instance, in case of trouble, evacuation of people would be more organized than evacuating people from skyscrapers. On the other hand, new constructions can be an innovative way to develop the economy. These buildings can save a plethora of time, because of its location. Consequently, office workers and city dwellers do not need to walk long distances, in order to get to their workplace. To illustrate, many town dwellers would like to live near their work, and it gives them an opportunity to use their time efficiently. Furthermore, living in new accommodation can offer comfort and convenience. Due to advanced technologies and sophisticated construction materials, individuals often choose such kind of buildings, instead of old one. For example, office workers can be gathered in a small space, and they can collaborate with colleagues, in order to expand their businesses. In conclusion, although many people tend to think that old structures should be demolished, personally, I believe that these constructions are part of our history. Accordingly, they should be protected.