Some people believe that children should be allowed to choose what subjects they study at school. Others argue that everyone should study the same subjects. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The educational system around the globe has always been debatable. Some people assert that children should have the will to choose subjects to study, while others think every child should learn the same topics. I strongly believe that children must be given a choice to select the lessons they want to learn. On one hand, in my opinion, adults need to support their child’s learning. There is no debate that an individual will concentrate more on learning about things that interest them. Similarly, if a child is given the opportunity to select their subjects at school, they will enjoy their learning journey. A school graduate, for example, if given the choice to learn about a language they like, will show more excitement in learning and developing that language rather than something that does not attract them. In addition to that, by giving such opportunities we are giving a stress-free environment to children to show their capabilities, and to develop at their own pace. This will result in a schoolchild exploring their passion and further pursuing a career out of it. On the other hand, it is argued that the subjects at school must be the same for all the tutees. Although this will create a platform for children to know all the subjects and the option to study further in subjects that amuse them, it will also force them to study lessons that disinterest them. This may result in the child losing focus and interest in studies completely. Moreover, they may start getting lower grades. Consequently, the idea of “one curriculum for all” will pressurise children to get good marks by learning something they do not like to explore. To conclude, even though having the same subjects will give all children equal opportunity to learn and develop. I firmly think that allowing children to explore and choose what they like to learn should be actively promoted.