Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been suggested that high institute students should be involved in unpaid community services as a compulsory part of high school programmes. Most of the colleges are already providing opportunities to gain work experience, however these are not compulsory. In my opinion, sending students to work is community services are a good idea as it can provide them with many lots of valuable skills. Life skills are very important and by doing voluntary work, students can learn how to communicate with others and work in a team, but also how to manage their time and improve their organisational skill. Nowadays, unfortunately, teenagers do not have many after school activities. After academy clubs are no longer that popular and students, mostly gone home and sit in front of the TV, browse the internet or play video games. By giving then compulsory work activities by charities or community organisations, they will be encouraged to do something more creative. Skills gained through compulsory work not will only be an asset on their CV but also increase their employability. Students will also gain more respect towards work and money as they will realise that it is not that easy to earn them and hopefully will learn to spend them in a more practical way. Healthy life balance and exercise are strongly promoted by the NHS, and therefore any kind of spare time charity work will prevent from sitting and doing nothing.It could also possibly reduce the crime level in the high school age group. If students have activities to do, they will not be bored and come up with silly ideas which can be dangerous for them or their surroundings. In conclusion, I think this is a very good idea, and I hope this programme will be put into action for high school /colleges shortly.