Nowadays more and more business meetings and business training are taking place online. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

According to a recent study, the advent of sophisticated modern technologies has made online business meetings and training common these days. I believe that in person meetings and training would bring about more problems for the environment compared to any advantages it might bring. Admittedly, there are some basic benefits of conducting meetings and training in a traditional way. Firstly, face-to-face communication is effective due to the fact that more than 60 per cent of communication involves body language and verbal cues. Facial expressions and eye movements convey messages effectively and it is possible only through physical interaction. For example, according to a study, students with less attention span benefited the most out of classroom training rather than online training. Secondly, some business meetings need the stakeholders to meet in person to arrive at crucial decisions. Such meetings generate more trust among the members, which is essential for the success of any business. For example, annual stockholder meetings of companies are always held in physical locations. Nevertheless, despite the minor advantages of face-to-face meetings, online meetings and training play a vital role in conserving nature and save money. Currently, the biggest threat that we face as humans is global warming and the whole world is taking steps to arrest its effects. Conducting meetings and training online would greatly reduce the emission of greenhouse gases like carbon-di-oxide. For instance, travelling by air significantly increases the emission of greenhouse gases. Having business meetings online would eliminate the need for air travel and reduces the carbon footprint of an individual. This would improve the quality of air and would make the earth a better place to live. Moreover, online classes reduce the cost of training. The reduction in expenses makes the classes affordable to all the students, which in turn save the money needed for travelling, accommodation and course fees. With the help of the internet, even with less financial resources, a country could provide better education to all its citizens. To conclude, face-to-face meetings are a serious waste of money, energy and above all not good for the environment. Therefore, the benefits of online training and meetings outweigh the benefits of traditional training and meetings.