“Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (For example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?”

Recently, there has been a heated conversation about whether high school students should undertake voluntary work in their community as part of the mandatory school curriculum. Personally, I strongly advocate that youngsters should contribute to the charity community, as it helps them to become responsible and well-educated individuals. First and foremost, the main benefit of this program is creating invaluable opportunities for high school pupils to develop a sense of responsibility. Taking the example of teaching sports to their siblings, students are encouraged to be responsible for their actions as they need to model the practice for their younger peers. This not only includes knowing how to properly transfer their athletic knowledge and techniques to others, but also constructing the ability to take care of others. Through helping others from getting hurt or managing accidents on sport fields, teenagers would have a better understanding of being responsible to others and their surroundings, which is beneficial in their future career pathway. On top of the preceding discussion, another advantage of manifesting this volunteering program is to help consolidate students ' learning at schools in a real-life context. By helping local dwellers in the neighbourhood, there are numerous chances for them to actively utilise the knowledge learnt from their textbooks. For instance, in charity markets, youngsters can be in charge of the cashing where it is necessary for them to apply their numeracy skills. Conclusively, it is undeniable that implementing a compulsory volunteer program in high school not only benefits the improvement of the community but is also tremendously helpful for equipping our children with solid skills and responsibilities. Therefore, community service should be advocated by the school and encourage all students to be part of the program.