The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Owing to the problems that a growing population of overweight people cause for the health care system, it is thought that the key to solving this issue is to have more sport and exercise in schools. I agree that this is one way to tackle the problem, but diet must be taken into consideration as well. Increasing sport or regular exercise in schools is a useful way to tackle weight problems in the long run for the general population. This method will encourage a new generation to develop vital habits that support overall health and help them maintain a reasonable weight. At the moment, the average child in the West participates in sports possibly twice a week, which is not enough to counteract their otherwise sedentary lifestyle that comes from many hours each day of sitting at a desk for their lessons. By incorporating more exercise time and possibly extracurricular physical activities, they will undoubtedly become fitter and more active, and continue living that way after leaving school. However, targeting physical exercise in schoolchildren to reduce the current issue of obesity in the wider population is not effective enough on its own. First, children in schools need to be educated about what constitutes healthy foods and the reasons behind this in order to ensure a new generation of people who understand clean eating. Second, for a more immediately impactful change, it is important to look at reducing the number of ultra-processed foods (UPFs) on the market, which too many people gravitate toward. For instance, the government could impose a tax on UPFs to increase the price, and likewise reduce the cost of healthy foods, such as vegetables, to encourage a better diet. To sum up, I believe the best approach to tackling weight issues in the population starts with increasing exercise in schools while encouraging a healthier diet through price changes targeting specific foods on the market.