Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

These days, the rise in consumption of popular items does not measure the real needs of the society, it reflects, on the contrary, the strength of advertising. I completely agree with this statement and in this essay I will explain why. The first reason is that popular consumer goods are not essential for living. Namely, trendy clothes, artificially sweetened drinks and junk food, we can clearly live without them, but ads on television, magazines and websites make us believe that we need them to be happy or successful in life. Publicity is colourful, eye catching and sometimes targeted to teenagers with famous people´s pictures or videos. Maradona, for instance, appears in Pepsi`s publicities and consequently, young kids who worship him, drink that soda. Moreover, there are not ads about the real needs of society such as fresh water, fruits, vegetables and other healthy meals. These goods are not as profitable for companies as industrialized products, therefore, an enormous amount of money is spent on advertising to create a fake necessity for people, making them buy more unnecessary items such as processed food and fast food rather than fresh produce. In conclusion, advertising is needed to make people purchase a particular item, like soda or fast food, therefore, the high sales of these consumer goods do not mirror the real needs of the community, but the impressive power ads have on a person's willingness. The government should control advertisements and create a tool to thoroughly measure society`s needs to answer to them accurately.