Many people believe that formal 'pen and paper' examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. What is your view of examinations? Give reasons for your answers.

Science has improved dramatically through the years. New ways of learning have been developed as well. Most people argue that formal pen and paper examinations are not a good way to evaluate someone's educational success. I have to admit that in my opinion, there are better ways to assess someone's performance. Evaluating someone's performance by means of pen and paper examinations has undoubtedly several advantages. To set an example, by taking paper-based exams, the examination condition will be equal for everyone. Furthermore, a wide variety of questions can be designed, namely multiple-choice problems and essay tasks. However, it is a fact that these kinds of examinations would be proper to assess somebody's performance only when he or she is good with paper-based exams. In other words, a test-wise person would definitely outperform someone who is better at verbal or oral skills. Hence, I believe that there should be different types of examinations rather than only paper-based examinations to give everybody a fair opportunity. For Example, group projects can be given to measure someone's teamwork abilities. There is another point that I would like to mention. I believe that examinations should be continuous and exams should be taken several times over the school year. Otherwise, it is possible that someone who has done all the assignments perfectly would fail the single exam that is held at the end of the year because of the reasons which were beyond his or her control. To conclude, I agree that pen and paper examinations are not the best way to assess someone's abilities and skills. I believe that students should also be assessed verbally or orally. Other types of assignments such as group projects are also a good way to evaluate their teamwork abilities. In addition, exams should be continuous throughout the year rather than taking a single exam at the end of the year.