A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs including uses for food and research. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although it is becoming a popular opinion that animals should not be used by individual, and that they should possess the same right as a person. Some people believe that employing wildlife for the satisfaction of their plethora needs such as feeding and conducting researches is a must. In my opinion, I agree that animals can be used by humans to their satisfaction; hence, this essay will discuss both views. Proponents of the view that animals should be used for human satisfaction believe so, because it has been the norm for centuries. This means that our forefathers had always made use of animals for food, as they are a great source of protein, which is an essential nutrient require by humans, to stay healthy. To illustrate, ancestors were mainly hunters by profession, they hunted animals as a source of food and livelihood; thus, they passed-on these practices to their generations. Secondly, using animals, for conducting an experiment is better, as this means a reduction of threats to human beings. In other words, if animals are used to carry out researches, there will be a decline in their population, which also means a reduction of life threatening species. For instance, the frequent use of monkeys to conduct experiment has resulted in the decline of their population; consequently, decline in monkey related diseases. Opponents of the view argue that animals should not be exploited and reserve some rights as they are living things just as humans. This is because they display some similar characteristics as human beings; thus, they should be treated fairly. In addition, the have emotional feeling and as such can get hurt, therefore people should show empathy to them. In summary, despite the opinion of others that animals should not be exploited on as they are living things and possess emotional feelings, I believe that using animals for our personal pleasure has been a lifetime practice which should be upheld, and would eliminate the threat.