The importance of biodiversity is being more widely recognized as increasing numbers of species under threat. What can be done to maintain biodiversity?

Nowadays, the numbers of species being on the verge of extinction are growing rapidly. This has led to the recognition of the importance of biodiversity. In order to slow this negative process, several steps can be taken. Firstly, I believe that it is important to inform people about the negative effects of biodiversity loss. Seminars and awareness sessions must be held to teach people what biodiversity is and why it is important. Education is a strong tool. One of the main issues that can be taught to people is the importance of recycling. Recently, natural resources are being intensively exploited to meet the needs of the rapidly increasing population. People should be encouraged to recycle and reuse things in order to reduce the amount of energy and water being used. Secondly, people should also feel responsible about the amount of waste they produce and the way the dispose it into nature. As far as disposal of waste is concerned, I believe that government plays a significant role. New regulations and policies must be set regarding the disposal of wastes, whether they are being dumped into water or buried underground. For instance, chemical wastes are a serious threat to different species since they can be extremely hazardous when they are not purified enough before being disposed into the environment. Moreover, deforestation must also taken under control. Natural habitats of endangered species should be preserved and illegal hunting of such animals should be strictly banned. To conclude, numbers of animals under threat of extinction is growing rapidly. This has resulted in the recognition of the importance of biodiversity. In my opinion, people should be further informed about the adverse effects of biodiversity loss. Everybody should be responsible to take action. The government has also a significant role. New regulations must set in order to slow this unfortunate process.