Nowadays more and more business meetings and business training are taking place online. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, the advent of sophisticated modern technologies has made online business meetings and online business training common. I believe that virtual meetings and training over the internet bring in more advantages than the drawbacks as they are environmentally friendly and cost effective. Admittedly, there are some basic benefits of conducting meetings and training in a traditional way. Firstly, face-to-face communication might be effective due to the fact that more than 60 per cent of communication involves body language and verbal cues. For example, according to a study, students with less attention span benefited the most out of classroom training rather than online training. Thus, physical interaction with teachers in a classroom setup is beneficial for students who are slow learners and require much attention. Nevertheless, despite the minor advantages of face-to-face meetings, online meetings and training play a vital role in conserving nature and save money. For instance, travelling by air significantly increases the emission of greenhouse gases. Having business meetings online would eliminate the need for air travel and reduce the carbon footprint of an individual. This would improve the quality of air and would make the earth a better place to live. Moreover, online classes not only reduce the cost of training, but also eliminate the expenses incurred in travelling, accommodation and course fees. This makes the classes affordable to all students. These arguments prove that training over the internet is more beneficial than traditional meetings and training. To conclude, face-to-face meetings are a serious waste of money, energy and above all not good for the environment. Therefore, the benefits of online training and meetings outweigh the benefits of traditional training and meetings. Given the rapidly growing technological advancements, one day online training would completely replace traditional training.