Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

Schools play vital role in student’s overall personality growth. Few people have a mindset that differentiating students based on their educational level will be more beneficial, however others believe that mixed ability classes aid students. I support the first notion for streaming students based on the judgement on their abilities. To embark with, mixed ability classes provide a vast range of opportunity to grow every student into the different level. Moreover, peers can help each other to get better. For example, one kid is good in the art and drama but weak in the academic study, while other one is of an opposite, they both can help each other to learn and grow together. In this sense, mixed classes provide a scope to develop their abilities not only in academic subject but for other skills too. On the other hand, even though mixed classes help for overall development of students, steaming students based on their academic record and placing them under one roof releases a huge burden from teachers to try various methodologies. Besides this, due to, all students have almost the same level of IQ, it allows teachers to use limited but effective methodology for learning. For instance, scholar students’ class has higher grasping power, such that teachers can stipulate fast completion of normal academic course and go beyond that to teach them in more deep, while bottom ones have low grasping power, thus educator can come up to student level and give slow lessons to give them the clear understanding of subjects. Consequently, pupils with different ability can study efficiently and effectively. To put this in a nutshell, I pen down, saying that, even though arranging mixed ability student class have a few advantages, segregating students based on their academic ability makes the perfect environment for students and teachers both.