New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

Nowadays, the changes on the way how children spend their leisure time due to the influences of novel technological developments has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although, this trend is not without disadvantages, the upsides will justify these. On the one hand, there are a number of major drawbacks when children spend too much time playing with technological devices. First, since children devote a large amount of their time to video games or screen time activities, they would have an adverse impact on their health. In fact, these games make them more likely to suffer from various health problems such as eye strain, short-sightedness or obesity, which leads to low academic achievement, self-distrust, and other similar issues. Second, by spending more time on online entertainment activities, present time kids are likely to allocate less time for other social activities. They tend to play electronic games or browse the Internet instead of hanging out with their peers, and this would lead to social isolation which seriously affects their later lives. On the other hand, I believe that the benefits are more significant than such disadvantages. Firstly, new technologies plays an important role in supporting kids enrich their knowledge and learn a wide range of valuable skills. For example, today’s children could simply access more information about animals and their natural habitats by watching discovery channel on their electronic devices, which helps promote their environmental consciousness. Second, if hi-tech gadgets are effectively used for positive purposes, they could stimulate children's creativity and imagination. This means that, new era kids would easily learn to conduct simple chemical or physical experiments by watching educational programmes like Minute Earth or Best of science, which makes them more eager to learn and discover new things. In conclusion, I would argue that the appearance of new technological improvements brings more benefits than drawbacks.