Some people believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweighs the disadvantages.

The dynamic progression in the society has encouraged a lot of people to learn a second language. Bilingual individuals have an edge over their counterparts, where some have gotten to the pinnacle of their career faster than expected. Some group of individuals is of the opinion that learning a foreign tongue at elementary is more profitable than doing so in secondary school. This essay will show how the advantages are more than the demerits. First of all, recent research shows that children grasp information faster than adults due to their young brain cells at a tender age. Since the basis of learning a new language is in the alphabets and pronunciations, assimilation of knowledge at this young age will be a lot easier. For example, in some countries like USA, parents take their children at a very tender age to summer classes for languages like Spanish, French etc. Secondly, the myriad of opportunities bilingual individuals have, have helped them to attain success faster than their mates. The fast growing society needs great communicators with diverse languages. For instance, more than 39% of people in Nigeria got a lot of jobs because of their ability to translate foreign languages like Arabic and French to English. In addition learning a foreign language at primary school brings the opportunity to broaden your horizon for friendship. A Language they say captures the soul, people have a genuine excitement to know that someone can understand and speak their native tongue, especially in a foreign land. To conclude, speaking a foreign language creates multiple opportunities both in career and otherwise, it also facilitates one's level of success in life. Therefore, the merits of learning a new tongue in primary education outweighs the disadvantages at high school.