Shops should sell local foods instead of foreign foods. Do you agree/disagree?

Food consumption is pivotal in one’s life; hence, people must vehemently pay close attention to what they ingest. Lately, there has been a contentious argument on whether stores should embrace merchandising of indigenous cuisines in place of imported edible goods. In my own view, I agree that locally made foods should be sold in the marts. The reasons for my opinion would be discussed below. To begin with, locally made dishes ought to be sold in the marts because of its health benefits. These foods are considered to be organic in nature because they are free of chemicals, and as a result of this, they help to combat the increasing trend of obesity among the youths. Recently, there has been an enormous increase in the number of overweight among young people, which is as a result of, consuming preservative meals that are imported from abroad. For instance, a recent survey conducted by Qatar University students showed that Qatar had recorded lowercase of obesity in the year 2019 because its stores had given preference to indigenous foods. Furthermore, another substantial reason why shops should merchandise locally produced foods is that it would strengthen the nation’s economy. In other words, marketing of local foods in domestic shops would have a positive impact in the society as more resources would be generated and circulated within the country, rather than lavishing these resources to import edible goods from abroad which could be detrimental to the masses. For example, the Qatari government had generated more revenue from cow milking between the years 2015 to 2019 because they chose not to import preservative milk from abroad. In conclusion, selling of domestic dishes in the stores would be a good development because of the health benefits it brings to the masses, and the fact that this initiative would enhance a healthy economy in the society.