Individual actions have little effect on climate change. For this reason, worthwhile change can only be made at governmental level. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In recent years, it has become more and more obvious that climate change is real and that it is starting to affect our planet badly. Surely, if we continue to pollute the atmosphere with current levels of CO2, the consequences will be enormous. Clearly, the revolution must happen, but whose responsibility is it? Some peoples argue that the problem is so huge that only international governmental action can have any real impact. Obviously, it is essential for governments to work together on solutions, signing up to agreements and, more importantly, keeping them. Also on a national level, we need to remember that most pollution is caused by industry and that this can be controlled effectively by government action. For example, industries could be made to pay carbon tax on their emissions. However, while the government must a lead on dealing with climate change, we are also all individually responsible for our own carbon footprint. In fact, the average person in the UK is responsible for about 10 tonnes of carbon emissions a year, while someone in the developing country world only uses around 0.3 tonnes a year. Furthermore, if we are to prevent temperatures rising by more than 2 degrees, we will all need to use no more than 1.3 tonnes a year by 2050. This will require a considerable new lifestyle for the average British person. We will need to stop flying regularly, driving when we could just as easily walk and so on. In conclusion, I would maintain that to protect our planet, and all our futures, we will need a combination of effective international agreements, strong government policies and variation in individual behaviour.