Some school children have less natural ability to learn other languages. Therefore, it is not right to force these school children to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a hot debate over whether students should be forced into learning a foreign language. Some people are of the opinion that it is unethical to forcefully teach students to pick up another language on top of their mother tongue, while others feel that it should be made compulsory in the curriculum. In my opinion, I disagree that children should not learn foreign languages as I feel that it is imperative for juveniles to be bilingual or multilingual, to stay competitive in the current society. There are several reasons why children should be exposed to a foreign language from a young age. The most compelling reason is that, being able to communicate in multiple languages will promote racial harmony. To be able to communicate in multiple languages will promote interactions with people from different countries and various cultural backgrounds which in turn minimizes any mis-communication. A second reason for my position is based on an example of my cousin, who have lived in Germany since the tender age of seven years old. It was a struggle for her to adapt during the initial months when she first started school in Germany. However, in merely three months, she has learnt to converse fluently with her teachers and peers in German. As a result of this exposure, she has learnt to communicate in three different languages, English, Mandarin and German. A final reason in support of my viewpoint is that I strongly believe that being bilingual or multilingual will provide students with more job opportunities when they enter the workforce. I am from Singapore and I have been bilingual since preschool. By the age of seventeen, I have mastered a third language, Japanese. Consequently, upon graduation, I was offered several positions in multinational companies because of my fluency in speaking three languages.. To conclude, it is my firm belief that foreign language should be introduced to adolescents at a young age as it is proven to have many benefits and will prepare them for their future.