Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

For centuries, culture has played a critical role in every society on the globe. Hence, different culture, has different beliefs as well as traditions. Therefore, it is argued that one can conclude others' community and personalities only by their appearances. In my opinion, I partly agree with the statement because I believe one can predict a person's culture, but it is not true for every individual. It is possible to guess a person’s background and nature of their clothes. However, one may not be able to predict their character and values. A person always wearing religious or traditional costumes may reveal their devotional and spiritual nature. A usually decent and formally clad individual portrays simplicity and modesty. Multi-coloured and flashy outfits can indicate a person’s exuberant and lively nature. For example, entertainers and celebrities are often seen wearing gauzy dresses. Also, an odd-coloured, loose-fitted and shabby clothing may be an indicator of a careless attitude. Nevertheless, I feel that outward appearance and looks can be deceptive. It may disguise a person’s true inner self and any malevolent intent. For example, some imposters donning sacred robes and religious symbols may defraud innocent followers. This was evidently seen in the recent criminal cases filed against self-proclaimed saints in India. Moreover, a person’s choice of clothing cannot always be used as a reflection of their character in general. To cite an example, a woman wearing light and short clothes for her comfort may incorrectly be perceived as indecent in some countries. In summary, a person’s style of dressing can be an indicator of their thought patterns, and outlook towards life and culture. It can also show some of their qualities and attributes. However, it would be incorrect to draw a conclusion about someone based on their external appearance.