Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Many people perceive teaching English in school as paramount compared to native languages, which may lead to these languages being diminished. In my opinion, I believe that English is particularly a crucial language and it must be taught at schools, even though it's possible harmful effects on local languages. A good reason to teach English in schools is that it is considered an international language, and everyone would need to master it in order to connect with the outer world. Specifically, most of the social media platforms nowadays are mainly of English origin, and although they support different language options, we still need English to fully understand events worldwide. Another point to consider is that, everyone who pursue higher education have to master the English language. In other words, most of the published studies and references in the majority of the branches have been available in English, so, you have to be linguistically competent to grasp all information and data mentioned in these resources. Therefore, you can produce a more valuable research and valuable results. Meanwhile, the effect of only focusing on the English teaching could be detrimental to the local languages. So, it is important to balance efforts in teaching both languages in order to keep the existence of the local tongue. For example, there must be some courses which are only taught in the native language such as religion and history. Also, we have to keep our conversation at school and home mainly by our native tongue. Thus, we earn benefits of the two languages together. In conclusion, although learning English in schools is quite important, we have to maintain teaching local language at schools and do not underestimate its significance because this could lead to its forgetfulness.