Technology is becoming increasingly prevalent in the world today. Given time, technology will completely replace the teacher in the classroom. Analyze both sides of this argument.

In today’s world, the use of technology is ever-increasing. Even in classrooms technology can be commonly seen. The argument that technology will completely replace the teacher in the classroom is a subject that is both supported and refuted by many. Both sides of this argument will be analyzed before a reasoned conclusion is drawn. Firstly it is easy to see the progressive rate at which technology is able to mimic both the physical and mental abilities of human beings. For example, the Honda robot Asimov can today move its body and manipulate objects with human-like precision. Therefore the possibility of robotic teachers in the future truly becomes a plausible outcome given time. Because of this it is easy to see why the argument that technology could replace human teachers in the classroom has garnered support. However on the other side of this argument it must be remembered that a teacher powered by artificial intelligence would have little to no control over its students. For example, it is commonly understood that children require the watchful eye of a teacher to ensure that they are indeed completing their class work and not fooling around during class time. Unfortunately this is something that a robotic teacher simply cannot provide. Thus this makes it clear why the argument that technology will never completely replace the teacher in the classroom could also be plausible. In summary, both sides of the argument regarding the possibility of a technologically driven classroom have strong support. However after analyzing both camps it is clear that the idea of having a class run entirely by a machine cannot be supported. As such, it is predicted that the negative aspects of the debate over computerized teaching will forever be stronger than the positive ones and because of this computers will never replace teachers.