Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific, research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In this modern era of intense globalization, some people think that research findings and business ideas should be actively publicized as it can be a launching pad for innovations throughout the world, ultimately leading to public welfare and betterment. On the other hand, there are others who contradict this thought process, and believe that some discoveries may possess an element of significant novelty, and thus, should be well protected to prevent information piracy. In the first case scenario, sharing decades worth of research discoveries with the world, can eliminate further wastage of time by other hubs of innovation, as they can continue their work form that particular point onwards to come up with new findings, which can result in progress of lifestyle on a global scale. For instance, the humongous sequenced data of the entire human genome shared by the ‘Human Genome Project’ provided a golden opportunity for other medical institutes to produce therapeutic drugs and treatments for a myriad of genetic disorders, drastically increasing lifespan of humans, as a consequence. Nevertheless, many a times some inventions are very valuable and contain a novel, inventive step or process, which in the wrong hands, can result in data piracy and information misuse wherein, the researchers may be stolen of their credits that they rightly deserved. For example, Francis and Crick won a noble prize for uncovering the double stranded nature of DNA by analysing the X-ray image founded by Rosalind Franklyn. However, Rosalind was not awarded with any noble laureates, despite the originality of her work, which could have been avoided if she would not have shared her findings with Francis and Crick. In a nutshell, publicizing new academic, research information, and business strategies can lead to advancement in technology and growth in the economy, throughout the globe, which in turn, can result in the betterment of the mankind, however, if the discovery is a piece of original work, then it should be rightly copyrighted and patented before sharing the findings, to prevent data robbery.