A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Today, an individual's importance is measured based on his or her social caliber and earthly possessions while qualities like being honourable, showing kindness and being dependable are considered archaic and non-essential. I emphatically agree with this opinion because many people who do not deserve positions are gaining power and only the rich and wealthy get to be role models today. Many people who are not fit for certain positions are assuming power because of their level of wealth they have amassed. The moment one possess some level of wealth, people are more drawn towards that person and deem them fit to handle positions of great influence and this is why more people are collecting bribes to put people in positions they do not belong. For instance, in the 2023 presidential elections, many nigerians voted for Bola Ahmed Tinubu-a presidential candidate, who was a corrupt governor in his tenure as the governor of Lagos only because of his popularity, the bags of rice and bundles of dollars he gave the masses. In addition, only the rich and famous are successful in being influencers of the younger ones because of how attractive their lives of glitz and glamour appear. This means that money sells more than anything else and to be someone who people hold in high esteem, being able to flaunt what you own is enough. For example, this is why Kim Kardashian- a wealthy former pornstar is more influential than Ellen Degeneres- a talk show host who shows love and kindness to many. In conclusion, I strongly agree that the new generation Z judge people's worth based on their wealth because of the characteristics of the people they allow to influence them and the kind of individuals that attain political positions.