car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam' How true do you think this statement is? what measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

In the modern world, there are more cars on the roads than the people they can carry. As a result of which, many metropolitan cities face big traffic jams. According to me, the given statement is 100% valid, many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. This essay will discuss about the same and some measures that the governments can take to tackle this problem. We cannot solve the problem of traffic jams unless we change the mindset of the people. Everyone wants to own their private car and there is nothing wrong in that, but we should think of the environment and other people too. For example, People travel from the same city to their offices in different cars. They have the option to travel in a single car, but they choose to travel in their own cars. People should use public transport whenever possible for travelling. Secondly, due to the poor condition of the public transport and rude behaviour of transport staff, people choose to travel by their own vehicle. The government should perform the maintenance of the public transport regularly. Along with that, the government should spread the awareness about the threats of using more cars every day. In conclusion, there is no denying the fact that the cities are now becoming 'one big traffic jam'. We can tackle that problem only, if we act fast and act together. All the initiatives taken by the government will go in vain if we won't change our lifestyle and treat the environment as our homes.