Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Nowadays, it has been observed that work & life balance of an employee is totally disturbed due to the heavy pressure. Because of this scenario, many of them are not able to follow their dreams or passion of their life which is resulting in high stress and mental disorder. I totally agree that these adverse situations outweigh the advantages and thus, I am going to explain the pros and cons of this scenario in the following paragraphs with details. Firstly, in the era of huge competition, everyone wants to stay ahead from the peers to secure their jobs in work areas. Additionally, demands of employers are also increasing day-by-day for the best performance. For example, in a reputed company, senior leader orders their subordinates to finish the task before leaving home and if they fail to fulfil, the consequences could be worse in the annual ratings. These cases are the perfect reflections of highly dissatisfaction. To sum this up, I totally lean towards the view that most of the people stays long in the offices for the task completion. Secondly, on the other hand, these conditions are having some pros too, but it is limited to the employers only. Furthermore, they can fetch more tasks in comparison of peer organisations. For instance, to increase the revenue, if an employer can complete the task within a day, while others can do the same in two days, that employer will surely end up with more funds in the balance sheet. But this advantage is for that company only and their employees will never get any benefit. Thus, people always find themselves on the other side of the river in terms of balance life. As I stated earlier, if the work pressure is high, after one stage, the employee cannot perform well. To conclude, it is having more disadvantage to spend more hours on the job. I personally believe that these scenarios should change, but it will not get corrected in nearby future.