More people decide to have children in their later age than in the past. Why? Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

With the progression of the society, many people do their family planning in their thirties rather than twenties which was common a decade ago. This essay will discuss positives and drawbacks of this trend and which outweighs the other. As people have turned extremely ambitious these days, they prefer achieving their goals and indulge into starting a family later. This priority shift not only help them focus and earn huge amount of money to make them self sufficient, but it also helps to financially support the future generation in a better way. For instance, financially independent parents are able to provide a better lifestyle for their children than those who are unstable in their careers. On the contrary, ageing brings vulnerability of severe health issues in a person's life. By the same token, pregnancy becomes complicated at the later stage, both for a man and a woman. A recent research concluded that, the probability of conceiving in couples is reduced by 23% after they touch their thirties and can further be declined up to 53% over the age of thirty five. Secondly, individuals do not remain fit enough to support their children, if the age gap between the parents and child is big. For example, if a child is born when a man is forty five, his child would be only twenty and not financially independent at the man's retirement age. Hence, the family might need extra financial aids to support the children. In conclusion, they are few advantages to starting a family late such as a child can be provided better financial aid to support his life, the disadvantages are more and it outweighs the advantages as the complications in conceiving can increase with a person's age and the generation gap between progenitors and their children is huge which can become a major issue in future.