The dangers and complexities of the modern world have made the mobile phone an absolute necessity for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, some people believe that kids should have gadgets to avoid being outdated with modernity in the present world. I strongly disagree with this statement because it hinders children ’s growth and also negatively impacts their character development. Firstly, mobile phones make many children addicted, causing them to play for several hours in the same place, focusing solely on their screens. This excessive screen time negatively affects their physical growth as it limits their engagement in outdoor activities, which are crucial for developing motor skills and physical fitness. For instance, instead of running or playing sports in the field with friends, many children spend hours sitting to play online games or just scrolling reels on YouTube, leading to a sedentary lifestyle that can result in obesity or other health issues. Secondly, internet provides broad content and information without filters, allowing anything typed to appear regardless of the user’s age. When minors can access this, they may begin to view adult content more often, which can be bad for their character development. For example, kids tend to mimic anything they see, and today, many videos include content where people frequently use curse words. As a result, children may imitate this behaviour and start speaking impolitely to everyone, including the elderly. In conclusion, it is an unwise decision to permit children to use mobile phones due to their detrimental impacts on their lives, especially on physical health and behaviour. Parents, however, should play an important role in controlling their children ’s screen time and activities.