Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Governments, all around the world, have visions to fulfil and responsibilities to carry on, and they seek to achieve the overall developments of their countries for a prosperous future. Thus, many governments think that economic progress is the key to success while others disagree with this notion and opine that many other aspects such as green environment, security, social values, traditions and peace among nations are more important. I personally believe that the economic success of a nation is an important goal for a government, but this is not the most important one. To begin with, many developed countries have already gained economic progress and yet they are suffering from growing crime rates, hostile relationship with other nations, corruptions and outbreak of epidemic diseases. Thus, economic progress has failed to ensure a better life standard of citizens and this is a proof that only economic progress should not be the vision of a government. On the contrary, without economic stability, a government cannot ensure advancement in education, defence, healthcare, international trade and social safety. Again, industrialisation and success in trades have ensured economic stability to many western and Asian countries and yet the environmental damage that has caused is overwhelming. What good money would bring to a nation if they cannot build a safe and green environment for the next generation? However, many people would also argue that it is better to bestow a prosperous country to the new generation rather than leaving them a broken economy. Furthermore, economic progress requires industrialisations, dominance in international trade and the use of cheap labours from other countries. History tells us that wars are imminent due to irrational competition among nations. On the contrary, without economic success, a country cannot defend itself from external threats, fight with epidemic diseases and cannot ensure proper health care facilities to its citizens. Finally, some would say, with the economic progress the country will lose its old way of living, traditional values and uniqueness as a nation. But it should also be considered that change is the fundamental basis of development and if a nation worries too much about the old ways of living, it would fail to ensure progress at a steady pace. In conclusion, there is no doubt that economic progress should be an important goal for a government, but there are still many aspects which are equally important.