It is too expensive to look after and repair old buildings. This money should be spent on building modern buildings instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the maintenance work of the historical architecture requires a lot of money which should be otherwise spent on constructing new structures. This essay will discuss that according to me, I completely disagree with this idea because these buildings hold historic importance and also aid in the economic growth as they promote tourism. Although the repair and preservation of archaic structures are expensive, it is important to preserve them because they signify the ancient era of human civilization. If they are not preserved, they will eventually wither away and an important information about the history of evolution will be lost. For example, the stone carvings on the walls of the Khondana fort tells us about the strategies used by the Shivaji Raje in the war against the Mughal Emperor. Hence, they should be maintained otherwise, the future generations will be clueless about the past. Additionally, as these buildings hold a significant aspect in the local history, they attract the international tourists. Consequently, they help in the financial growth of the local people by promoting their business. For instance, the ruins of the Greek Gods in the Athens has become the top tourist destination in the Greece in last five years. Therefore, the Greek government spends millions of dollars every year for maintenance work of that place. In conclusion, it is stated by many that instead of spending on the repairing and the preserving of the old constructions, one should invest in new architecture. This essay completely disagrees with this notion as they are historically important structure and they also help the society to grow economically because they attract many tourists.