24. In some countries, young people are encouraged to work and travel for a year finishing high school and starting university study. Discuss advantage and disadvantage for your people who decide to do it.

It is a fact that selecting a right career pathway is crucial for the youth's future life when they graduate from high school. Some youngsters  prefer to travel around the world or working in workforce to gain experience before entering universities; while, others enrol themselves in post-secondary education right after high school. Both of these two pathways have advantages for the youth.The essay will discuss these two selections separately. To begin with, firstly,  Spending time travelling or working will provide opportunities for high school graduates understand themselves better. It is a true that the majority of the youth may have lack of workforce knowledge or self-awareness; therefore, gaining work experience will assist them to become acknowledgeable  enough to select a suitable career. For example, one-year travelling and working experiences will expand their horizontal knowledge and learn more about themselves. Moreover,  they can also earn some money for their tuition as well. As a result, the youth may be mature enough to select their careers to pursue. However, some new graduates prefer to attend universities right after high school. Firstly, they believe that travelling and working not only will waste their precious time, but also will increase the risks for the youth to incline towards negative habits, such as smoking, drinking, doing drugs, and so on. In addition, some of them may never return to colleges again due to minimum payment. Directly pursuing university education will assist students to keep concentrated in their academic study without distraction from working places.  In conclusion,  whether having a short period for travelling or working or not depends on a high school graduate individually. I opine that they should make a serious decision after consulting their parents or mentors. Travelling and working may not be suitable for all students due to  the above reasons. However, pursuing advanced academic educations in universities will assist learners to prosper.