Many people are worried about cyber crime and identity theft. What kinds of problems is it causing? What can be done to solve this problem?

Nowadays, cyber hacking and identity theft are causing a large population to worry about their online security. This is happening when more people are using online banking and electronic payment systems for both personal and business purposes. Although this can post a big problem for individuals and businesses alike, there are steps that can be taken to safeguard their personal identity and minimize the threats of becoming a victim of cybercrime. I will mention some of the common problems are being caused by this type of criminal activities. I will also examine several precautions that people can take to make their online activities safer. Cybercrime can happen in many ways, such as scam emails or scam phone calls tricking people to believe that their bank accounts have been compromised and try to get respondents to disclose their personal information, including but not limited to, their date of birth and online passwords. If people fall for this type of cyber crime, they can stand to lose a lot of money because the criminals will use the information gained to withdraw money from the victim's bank account. Another type of cyber crime is through the use of various methods to gain access to business databases where sensitive and confidential business and customer's information are being stored. There have been many cases that big corporations have their database system hacked into and millions of customer information have been stolen. With this confidential personal information, criminals can inflict a lot of financial damage to people, like getting credit cards with the victim's information, getting bank loan under the victim's identity. All these types of criminal activities are causing people to lose confidence in online banking and business activities meanwhile both governments and businesses are trying to convince people to rely on their online systems more than ever before. Many multi-national corporations had been fined for big amount of money for failing to protect their customers' information from cyber hackers. This type of cybercrime has been causing business a lot of money, not only in the fines that they need pay, but also the huge amount of money that they have to invest in cyber -security to protect their electronic information. Undoubtedly, this kind of cybercrime is very damaging and wide spreading, there are many steps that can be taken to make it more difficult for these cyber criminals to success. One of the easiest steps is to make your online passwords more difficult for other people to guess, for example, never use your own names or birthdays as your passwords. Alternatively, people should make it as a habit to change their online passwords on a regular basis. Most importantly, people should always verify that the emails and/or phone calls that are demanding the disclosure of their personal information are legit. Furthermore, It is always a better idea to either call back to your bank's or business's published phone number to make sure that you talk to the right officials before giving away any information. Ultimately, businesses should also do a better job in building a stronger and more robust online security system to protect their customers' personal information. In conclusion, cybercrime hacking and identity theft may be happening more often than people would like, but it can certainly be prevented with proper public education and people treating their personal information more carefully.