At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

These days the proportion of the young group is inclined to be larger compared to the elder. Although some people suppose that this imbalance can bring about many drawbacks, I would argue that its benefits still outweigh its disadvantages. On the one hand, there are many drawbacks of the youthful population. Firstly, it is obvious that there would be a high competition in the job market between young people. This would cause an oversupply of labour, probably resulting in large-scale unemployment. For example, many freshly graduated students are unable to receive a job in the market due to the fact that due to the intense race for job seeking. Secondly, there would be some pressure on housing and public services. The young require a larger amount of services. However, the governing sources would not be enough for providing reliable transport systems or rents for everyone as a result of increasing populations. On the other hand, the society with young individuals have lots of benefits. The young population would create a high-energy source of labour. In other words, young people are dynamic, smart and active, who are eager to learn and make progress. This would meet essential requirements of employers. In addition, young people have been accustomed to adopting advanced technologies and innovation. They would, therefore, apply them in working, increasing productivity and boosting the economy. Furthermore, the government can collect more taxes as an increase in young people will lead to a rise in the number of citizens who have to pay tax. In conclusion, although the tendency of increasing young people in the population has both advantages and disadvantages, it still brings more merits to society.