At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Particularly in developing countries, the proportion of inhabitants in their twenties and thirties has reached an unprecedented level. Those who analyse demographic changes point to both positives and negatives connected with this shift. Whilst seeing potential drawbacks, I consider that, on balance, this increase in the percentage of younger people is beneficial. It would be wrong to deny that this situation brings challenges. It results in limited economic opportunities, and younger individuals can become frustrated if they are unemployed or have to live in cramped conditions with family members because they cannot afford decent accommodation. This may cause disharmony within society. However, the enormous economic, social and political rewards of a predominantly youthful population should not be overlooked. Those who have recently graduated make excellent employees. They are innovative, creative and dynamic. They can introduce new ways of working which make companies more productive and profitable. In addition, a society containing large numbers of younger adults tends to be freer, livelier and more open. Such individuals usually have more energy and their determination to enjoy life affects everyone positively. Finally, there is no denying that those below the age of forty are more likely to fight for positive political change. They campaign against injustice and inequality, and demonstrate against older politicians who seen give a certain impression or have a certain outward aspect seem not to care about climate change. It is principally the young who support women's rights, measures to tackle poverty and a ban on single-use plastics. In conclusion, I would argue that although difficulties may arise if younger people feel they have few options or rights, a culture containing a significant number of younger individuals will generally be happier, healthier, and more prosperous. Middle-aged and elderly people should welcome this state of affairs rather than fearing it.