There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is widely believed that students are facing a lot of difficulties in academics than that in non-academic subjects. Moreover, a lot of people argue to remove non-academic subjects such as physical education, and culinary from education programs so that the students can focus more on those academic courses. Personally, I completely disagree with the fact that schools should change their syllabus for students to concentrate more on academic work. People might argue that learning non-academic lessons is not beneficial for students. And those assumptions are based on the thought that the best way to have a successful life is to do well in academic lessons such as mathematics, physics and science. Thus, it is widely believed that eliminating the non-academic subjects such as sports, culinary and art will give the students more time to focus on those science subjects by doing experiments and reading pieces of literature and have more opportunities to thrive in those subjects academically. However, those non-academic subjects can help the students develop their personality and help them grow physically. For example, it is a known factor that when a student who did not participate in physical practice classes with those students who did sport will have lesser physical growth throughout their growth period. On the other hand, putting too much pressure on students to learn those academic lessons will result in mental health problems such as depression, stress and over-studying with no classes to relieve those stresses. To conclude, each individual students have their own interest and ability to learn in both academic and non-academic subjects. So it is not a wise decision to eliminate those non-academic subjects from the school syllabus as students may not be able to balance between soft skills and hard skills.