IT IS BETTER FOR CHILDREN TO BEGIN LEARNING A FOREIGN LANGUAGE AT PRIMARY SCHOOL RATHER THAN SECONDARY SCHOOL

Foreign languages have become a key component of school curriculum in many parts of the world. But, whether children should learn them at primary or secondary school is a topic of frequent discussion. Some people argue that children should be introduced to international languages at primary level. Personally, I believe that the pros of this early exposure of foreign languages outnumber the cons. To begin with, in today’s globalized world, it is almost impossible to deny the significance of being a bilingual or a multilingual. Our foreign language abilities play a defining role in every field, be it finding a dream job in a multinational company or settling in a new country. Therefore, teaching international languages to young pupils is a major step towards their bright future. More importantly, children ’s minds are highly receptive when they are young. They can learn anything much more quickly than adults and are not afraid of making mistakes. These early language lessons can not only boost the confidence level of learners but also help them attain native-like fluency. These classes will also have a positive impact on children ’s social life. On the other hand, the negatives of making children learn an international language when they do not understand its value should not be overlooked. Most schools, especially the Asian ones, have many subjects like science, mathematics, history and geography etc. in their curriculum. As a result, young students have a lot to learn. So, including one more subject in the form of a foreign language definitely puts additional pressure on children. Some learners find it hard to cope with this extra work. It is often observed that if students do not get the support they need, they tend to lose their interest in the language. To sum up, language acquisition is a gradual process. The sooner it begins, the better the results will be. I believe that careful lesson planning can make the entire learning experience enjoyable and rewarding for every child.