All students ought to study art and music in school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Art and music soothes the soul. They serve a higher purpose in life than a means to make money, and that is to bring us peace. I vehemently agree with the statement that these subjects must be taught in school. My opinion on the performing arts is not purely philosophical. Studies have shown that learning how to play an instrument at a young age builds hand eye co-ordination and improves focus. Learning by drawing is known to be the easiest way to digest complex ideas, allowing students to to imbibe information while simultaneously engaging in a fun activity, The arts can also make schools more inclusive institutions. Students that struggle with conventional methods of learning are afforded an avenue that allows them to express their thoughts creatively. Art and music therapy have shown to work wonders with differently abled children, providing them with an education that occurs at their own pace. This has dramatically improved the attendance of such children during the school year. In conclusion, I believe that music and art are stress busters in the often suffocating life at school, and that all school going should be exposed to the wonders of art and music in these crucial, formative years.