Some people think that the government should fund creative people such as artists and musicians due to the benefits they provide to society, other people believe that as they enjoy their work they should have received no government funding. Discuss both sides.

In recent decades, artists have played a prominent role in the act that contributes to social welfare. To this end, whether or not they should be paid by the government remains under discussion. While a school of thought holds that if they are self-sustainable financially, there should not be governmental involvement, others argue that their contributions deserve monetary support from the state. I strongly agree with the latter for 2 main reasons which this essay aims to discuss. It is understandable why a portion of society does not tolerate funding from the authority to artists and musicians as there are undoubtedly other urgent sectors that should be invested in. However, this is simply untrue due to the meager amount of money it would require to significantly support art makers. This is evidenced by Japan, where multiple government-owned philanthropy organizations started subsidizing free accommodation and sustenance for manga artists in late 2018. As a result, the anime business skyrocketed in terms of revenue and laid a foundation for its immense success in recent years on the global market. There are various reasons why the state should monetarily aid music producers and artists, but the following statements proved to be the most rational. Firstly, historical art and music tremendously contribute to a country's cultural identity, and funding their makers is a way to preserve and bolster the culture. Moreover, this irrefutably advertises the nation's culture on a worldwide scale, which inadvertently acts as the bedrock for a thriving tourism industry and consequently boosts the economy. Second of all, arts and crafts firmly ensure social welfare by means of providing adequate entertainment for all genders and ages. For example, in recent years, records show that Vietnam spends one in ten of its yearly GDP on cultural art and music which made its citizens' happiness levels surge drastically according to numerous researches, In conclusion, though some people believe that artists and musicians should not be financially supported by the authority, I am of the concrete belief that by investing in these individuals, the government is indirectly laying the bedrock for a prosperous nation.