Many people use distance-learning programmes (study material, post, TV, the Internet, etc.) to study at home, but some people think that it cannot bring the same benefits of attending college or university. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about two kinds of learning methods. However, whether we should study through distance-learning programmes or go to university, college has caused heated debate. In my view, the traditional method is apparently more beneficial. First, it is obvious that universities or colleges help students gain more essential abilities rather than acquiring knowledge. This is because, with the guidance of different brilliant professors, learners also get practical and professional skills such as problem solving, critical thinking, which are crucial for becoming qualified employees. So, attending universities are much more helpful for students to develop different competences. Moreover, universities offer students a golden chance to augment their relationship. For example, clubs play an indispensable role in every university community. By joining a club, students can make more friends and can even make valuable practical experience. This is not to say that distance-learning method is useless. This state-of-the-art educational model enables learners to study any discipline without wasting time to get into a long-distance tertiary school. But they definitely will not gain as many benefits as the one choosing universities. In conclusion, studying in universities brings more advantages than distance-learning. Meanwhile, we should not neglect the needs of some people to give suitable courses in the distance-learning programmes. Only doing so can promote student’s intellectual, physical and emotional development.