Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

According to some people, the authorities should invest in trains instead of roadways. I do not quite agree with this view. In my opinion, the roads are as important as railways and hence the government should allocate appropriate funding for both. There are certainly ample reasons to spend taxpayer’s money on railways. Trains can carry more people. Also, they are eco-friendly. Unlike cars or buses they do not emit poisonous gases which pollute the air. Another advantage of using trains is that they do not get stuck in traffic. People can reach their destinations on time. Trains also tend to be faster and safer. Better still, in most countries around the world, train fares are considerably lower than bus fares or taxi fares. On the flip side, roads are equally important. The construction of railways is not possible in certain geographical areas and in such places, roads are the only mode of transport for people. Also, rail networks cannot reach every nook and corner of a country. Actually, most people use both roads and railways to commute to college or work. For example, they may take the bus or car to reach the railway station and from there they may take the train to reach their office. If there are no roads or if the existing roads are in a pathetic condition, people will have trouble reaching their destinations. In conclusion, roadways and railways are both essential for making travelling hassle free for people. Hence, I do not agree with the argument that the government should invest more in railways. Rather, it should give equal importance to both modes of transport.