Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to the company by giving them extra money. This practice can act as an incentive for some but may also have a negative impact on others. To what extent is this style of management effective? Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

Giving due recognition to commendable workers is undeniably crucial in today’s generation. Moreover, several companies have been practicing such by giving additional cash. While rewarding an exceptional employee is satisfying in the perspective of a personnel, certain individuals argue that the aforementioned practice may result to undesirable impact on others. My conviction absolutely dictates that such management strategy is efficient in motivating workers. Hence, in this essay, I will discuss its importance and why there is no more way to empower a staff to work harder than the rewarding style. Some people tend to do their workplace’s duties in order to generate income. Additionally, if one deliberately thinks about it, he/she will realize that a highly driven and dedicated crew rarely exist. Hence, institutional chiefs must make an advance measure to alter the said working attitude. Monetary reward, for instance, is an excellent way to refashion the ongoing phenomenon. Some may ask, “Why would you offer cash prize when you can just recognize it?” Unfortunately, the co-workers of the outstanding employee will remain stagnant. Even though an award alone is flattering, without money, the others will not be inspired to do better. Every step requires money, workers may become more passionate about their job if they think about the incentives. Undoubtedly, praising a person is not enough when it is not accompanied by in-demand prizes. While the intention of the company owners is pure positive in promoting professional growth, a portion of the society may disagree. Some argue that incentivizing a crew can create unhealthy competition. However, the department heads can do something in avoiding misunderstanding, conducting team building, implementing work ethics, offering trainings, to name a few. The manager must be professional in handling negativity within the workforce. In conclusion, there is no known better means to help the personnel improve, but monetary incentives as people use it all of the time. At the end of the day, healthy rivalry must be promoted through the proper guidance of the supervisors.