Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years that many cities in the world are now one “big traffic jam”. More people should use public transport. Do you agree or disagree?

Around the world, as well as in my city, people are spending more time stuck in the traffic than they were a few decades ago. I think that popular adoption of public transport is necessary if cities have to function efficiently. Undoubtedly, having a private car has its benefits. Most important of them all is the extreme convenience it provides, especially to the families with kids. For instance, most of the commercial centres where I go to from my home are at least 10-15 minutes walk from the nearest bus stops. This means that every time I am travelling with my wife and 2 kids, I have to be very careful with kids crossing the road. Nevertheless, the benefits of using public transit far outweigh those of private cars. For example, public transit makes efficient use of road capacity. A normal bus takes as much road space as three cars, but it can have fifty to sixty people travelling in that space as compared to four to six people travelling in private cars. One of the major roads in my city centre has constructed a new metro bus lane that is exclusive only to buses. According to recent statistics, five times more people travel through that one lane as compared to the other two car lanes combined. Furthermore, public transit is a safer mode of transportation for both passengers as well as roadway users. Since drivers of public buses are employed and trained, they take their job professionally and drive within the speed limits and lanes. In my town, people are even afraid to walk or cycle, even for short distances because occasionally car drivers end up driving very close to the sidelines in order to break free of traffic. In conclusion, traffic jams are increasingly creating problems for the city. Usage of public transport would not only make cities safer and more efficient, it would also benefit the environment by reducing air pollution.