A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In the modern era, it is believed that the old traditions of the humanity, love and affection are being replaced by the monetary and communal status, as markers of value of an individual. To a major extent I agree that wealth is deciding the standards of the individuals, but the old day customs still have some place. One reason for this shift seems that the life standard in these days depends on the belongings more than ever before. A person who is wealthy, keeps good house and vehicle and his children go to costlier schools. Resultantly, he gains attraction by the society. Moreover, he can handle the difficulties of the current times in an easier way compared to the one with lesser money. So, the savings are uplifting life standards which ultimately decide the social worth. For example, Malik Riaz is a present day prominent figure in Pakistan, while 20 years back he was never mentioned in any circle. Another cause in this regard is the social contribution of the wealthy persons. They give a lot of funds for the charities and local welfare activities and they make them prominent in various functions, while the kind hearted but money deprived individuals cannot afford to do that. Furthermore, such people support developmental works and organise political gatherings, which further elevate their level. Despite the advantages of the monetary stature, the past customs still have their place. Many people are still highly influenced by these traits and they follow the owners of these qualities. Although, with modern revolution, they are hardly coping the economically higher ones. In conclusion, presently, the money through elevation of life quality and communal contribution, is a decisive factor for someone's worth, but kind hearts, love and affection did not lose their role altogether. In my opinion, they will regain the space with time.