Some people think high school graduates should travel or work for a period instead of going directly to study at university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both approaches. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It’s argued among individuals that high school graduates should go through a gap year instead of directly going to college. In my perspective, minors should start to study at university first instead of wasting a year off. Firstly, travelling and working is a huge chance that not everyone takes advantage of. By travelling and visiting multiple countries, minors would gain lots of knowledge and experiences. Especially alone, graduates would get to meet crutical numbers of people, they could gain information about cultures, traditions and languages. In addition, travelling helps young people become more independent and confident when facing new situations. On the other hand, working, plays a huge part in building a minor’s personality, in which they learn how to deal with harsh situations. They may also improve their communication skills and learn how to work with different kinds of people. However, a gap year may affect negatively on minors. By taking a year off, children would waste it on parties and night-outs, which results in being surrounded by the wrong people. Furthermore, minors won’t think twice of returning to studying again and would prefer to skip uni and enjoy their time. Also, skipping a year may damage minors financial sum, because of not being able to control the amount of money spent on going out and travelling. Moreover, some students may forget important study skills and find it difficult to adapt to university life after a long break from education. To conclude, between the advantages and disadvantages. In my opinion, there is nothing wrong with balancing life between studies and travelling, rather than taking a year off.