People often do not interact with their neighbours and this is harming communities. What are the possible causes and solutions?

The neighbours are not talking with each other as much as they should and this is being harmful for the neighbourhoods. One possible cause of this lack of interaction is that people do not realize the benefits of a strong and united community. So, a solution might come from city officials by stimulating community groups. First of all, people are usually isolated on their own bubbles and do not perceive the many benefits a close relation with neighbours can have. Thus, people are usually overconfident in what they can achieve alone. For instance, someone might think that either sending an e-mail or giving a call to the city council will be enough in order to solve a problem in his or her street, when in fact it will not be enough. Consequently, with not sufficient pressure from the population nothing will be done for solving the problems. Therefore, this lack of interaction problem can be mitigated by the city council stimulating community groups. Hence, if proper incentives are given for a while to the local people, a trend can start and no more incentives will be needed. For example, the city council could lower taxation for some months on people which are attending to the group meetings. Thereafter, people will start to perceive the advantages of having not only a close interaction with the neighbours but also a strong group community. In conclusion, people do not usually interact with their neighbours, because they are not fully aware about the advantages of this interaction, such as solving local community problems. Hence, a possible solution might be incentives coming from the city council to participants of local community groups.