Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, most pupils spend a lot of their time scrolling through social media or games on their gadgets from time to time. It can be argued that our children can gain many advantages from this trend, however, I believe there are a lot of drawbacks both mental and physical, for the following reasons. There are some reasons why children choose to spend their time with mobile phones. Firstly, the number of criminals is increasing significantly these days, this factor makes parents worry if the children play in the garden without any supervision from the adults. As a result, parents give their kids gadgets to force them to stay at home and feel safe from any bad effects such as kidnapping. Secondly, some children believe that they can learn and gain some pros information, such as educational apps and interactive learning tools. This can attract children ’ skills to develop both their mental, also ability to select the good between the bad effects of smartphones’ features. For example, children can learn how to build a system from a website. In some cases, children also get money from winning games online. Besides the good effects of phones, parents should consider the drawbacks of children who spend almost every day with gadgets. Furthermore, killing time in front of gadgets can cause serious illnesses such as poor posture and eye strain. This would be very bad for kids for a long period and they might have surgery in the future. For another reason, always spending almost all of their time in front of gadgets could make children feel isolated. They might feel cannot socialize with their friends because they do not know how to build connections with others. This might happen because children just know how to play with their gadgets, not how to connect with other humans. To sum up, some communities believe that children might be safe to stay at home rather than play in the garden with their friends because of the number of criminals that happen. However, I believe that the drawbacks might become more dangerous in the future such as eye strain or bad posture.